what? bread?

a blog about making bread at home

Stamped cookies

Making biscuits with patterns on top is an ancient art. There’s a lovely blog about it from Ivan Day, who owns some beautiful historic biscuit stamps. Me, I bought one in M&S last week. I’m stuck at home with a sprained ankle this morning so I thought I’d try it out with the Hairy Bikers Cardamom and Lemon cookies. I only made half a batch as I didn’t have enough almonds, and I had to plump up the portions to 30g pieces to make the stamp work. I weighed the pieces, rolled them into balls and pressed them flat with my hand before using the stamp. The stamp is probably a bit too ornate and I had to use plain flour to coat it before stamping out the cookies.

Now I have something to eat with my morning coffee. Before and after pictures below.

?????????? ??????????

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

