what? bread?

a blog about making bread at home

Wessex Mill Six Seed bread flour

A couple of weeks ago we were in Stony Stratford and I bought a bag of Wessex Mill Six Seed bread flour in a deli there. The first loaf I made was just using a white bread recipe and it was rather sadly to be classed alongside the Mesopotamian mud bricks that I sometimes make, so I didn’t show it off on here. It was edible and we ate it, the flour is rather tasty – it contains Wheat Flour, Linseed, poppy-seed, Sesame-seed, Millet, Sunflower Seed, Kibbled Wheat, but the loaf was rather shallow and thick. So before using any more of this lovely stuff I had a little think about how to make it into something that was edible. And today I came up with using Dan Lepard’s wholemeal recipe from Short and Sweet – which is a bit like this but uses entirely wholemeal flour and only 1 teaspoon of salt.

The result was a loaf that was going places in a hurry (a good thing in my cold kitchen), which had great oven spring and is nice and soft and spongy inside. So before I eat it all, here’s the pictures and I commend both Wessex Mill and Dan to you as usual.

???????????????????????????????

  ???????????????????????????????

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Wessex Mill Six Seed bread flour

  1. A campagrain flour mix! I’ve only ever mixed up my own homemade version to date. I bake them in baguette trays to maximise the surface area. ( I’ve also found that they can be a bit sluggish)

Leave a Reply

