what? bread?

a blog about making bread at home

chocolate custard muffins – and bikes

As part of my New Year’s resolution to explore further bits of cookery books I already own, this afternoon I hit upon Dan Lepard’s chocolate custard muffins. The recipe is available online here. Unusually for any sort of cake recipe you start by making a chocolate ‘custard’ with water, cornflour, cocoa and sugar. When it’s nice a thick you add butter and chocolate, then when that’s melted in the rest of the ingredients, finishing with flour and raising agents. Which all goes totally against everything I know about making cake, but hey I’m open to ideas.

???????????????????????????????I made 12 muffin sized and 8 smaller ‘fairy cake’ sized cakes. Dan says to put icing on the top but that could be a bit much, so I may leave them plain.

Earlier this week I made some chocolate and orange muffins from a muffin recipe book – sorry they went so fast I couldn’t even photograph them and to me that recipe has a tang of the raising agent. These don’t and are rather lovely and squidgy.

And the bikes … I have a place in the inaugural Prudential London-Surrey 100 mile ride in August this year, so the next 6 months will be all about the bike, but I’ll need plenty of fuel on the way. Let’s see how the Olympic legacy works!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “chocolate custard muffins – and bikes

  1. Boo I didn’t get a place on the LS100, oh well. I’m sure you will have a great time.
    I like the sound of the muffins, perfect post ride (recovery) snack.

    O

Leave a Reply

