what? bread?

a blog about making bread at home

shameless plug

Not for me, but for a new cake recipe book I’ve just bought. If you’re looking for something that has traditional style recipes with a bit of a twist and that you can guarantee will work, look no further than Cake by Pat Ring. I’ve already marked up some that I want to try and I’ll write them up here as I do them. There’s also a few gluten free recipes too, which are always handy. It’s a neat little spiral bound book, always a good thing for me as it will lie nice and flat

Pat has been baking for a long time, over 30 years, and has supplied tea-shops and more fund-raising cake stalls than most of us can imagine. She’s put this book together as she wanted to get her recipes out into the world and also do some fund-raising for Iain Rennie Grove House Hospice Care.

These are her words:

THIS BOOK HAS BEEN WRITTEN SOLELY IN AID OF IAIN RENNIE GROVE HOUSE HOSPICE IN ST ALBANS HERTS WHERE I HAVE BEEN A VOLUNTEER FOR ABOUT 8 YEARS NOW.
Finally – my recipe book of all my cakes baked over the past 38 years (!) and a few new ones too – has arrived. It has taken me the past 10 months to produce this book and I am sure you will be as pleased with it as I am – if you buy a copy or more!
The recipes are clearly and simply written so that anyone will be able to turn out some gorgeous cakes for any occasion – family, friends, charity sales, whatever. They range from the quick and easy ones to those that require a little more time. I have ensured that a minimum number of different tins are used and there are sections on freezing, microwaving and adapting the recipes for special diets too.
The idea came to me last winter after we had had an especially successful Charity event (as well as working at the Hospice, I co-ordinate all baking for our events) and people were suggesting I type up my recipes and sell them for 50p a copy. Over Christmas, I decided I could go one better, and at my time of life I could let all my recipes go, but in a good cause. which Grove House certainly is. We provide 24 hour Hospice at Home care, Day Hospice care and a range of support sevices for local patients (and their families too) suffering from life limiting illnesses.
The book is priced at £10 AND EVERY PENNY WILL BE GOING TO THE HOSPICE. I was fortunate enough to secure the production costs of the book from our local Councillors. The postage cost is £2 extra. If you would like to make an order, *and they will make great Christmas presents too), please send me a cheque for £12 made payable to IRGH with name, address and tel number on the back, and post to Pat Ring, Pinewood, The Common, Kinsbourne Green, Harpenden, Herts AL5 3NT – OR YOU CAN PAY VIA BANK TRANSFER TO BARCLAYS A/C 10523208, SORT 20-97-09, A/C IAIN RENNIE GROVE HOUSE. PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF YOU ARE DOING THIS, SO I CAN LET THE OFFICE KNOW, AND I CAN POST THE BOOK OUT TO YOU. MY CONTACT DETAILS ARE:

patring@btinternet.com
THANK YOU IN ADVANCE, and I wish you Happy Baking! (and let me know if you want messages, signed copies etc) Pat x
Single Post Navigation

One thought on “shameless plug

  1. Pingback: minor victory snatched from the jaws of defeat « what? bread?

Leave a Reply

