what? bread?

a blog about making bread at home

Gingerbread rock cakes and fondant fancies

A very quick blog on some things I have made recently. Breadmaking is taking a back seat while I continue my love affair with cake! I am still baking our daily bread but it’s a bit repetitive just now.

Sometimes Dan Lepard comes up with ideas that are pure genius. Gingerbread rock cakes are one of them.

Published in the Guardian newspaper and available online over here

I made these last Thursday, they were quick and easy to make and the recipe made a generous 21 in my hands. I put dark chocolate on the base and drizzled lemon water icing across the top, although Dan only suggests one.

And yesterday I made the fondant fancies from the latest Great British Bake-off Showstopper book. These have orange zest in a Genoese sponge with a pinch of cardamom, orange water icing on top of a layer of marzipan which sits on a layer of marmalade. I make my own Seville orange marmalade and still have some left from earlier this year, so that was good.

The Genoese sponge was interesting as it takes a bit of whizzing of eggs over a saucepan of hot water and it all went quite frothy which was good, I hadn’t made it before but it went OK. It’s also quite a low fat recipe, with only 50g of butter for 16 cakes.

Another time I’ll make my own marzipan and maybe use a bit less, but as a proof of concept exercise it sort of worked out OK. The icing was a bit fiddly and I’m gladĀ the recipe didn’t use buttercream as well, although I’ll be watching the Bake-off masterclass tonight to see how it should be done.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

