what? bread?

a blog about making bread at home

chocolate cake – schokogugelhopf

Very quickly as I’ve a 6 mile race to run this evening……

Easy peasy lovely Hairy Biker’s recipe from the Bakeation Austrian episode.

Deviations – not enough soft butter so I used 50g marg + 100g butter, medium eggs, not large ones which made it a little stiff, I suppose I could have added milk, but got away with it more or less. I found a bundt tin in T K Maxx at the weekend so it isn’t in a proper gugelhopf ring, so it is a bit more rounded than the Bikers’ one.

The recipe says it serves 10, but it is enormously rich so I think this should only be served in teeny tiny bits, but good for carb loading before running!

I don’t think I let the icing thicken enough, but that’s just ‘cos I was impatient. I have another recipe with this kind of topping and it takes forever if you let the chocolate get too hot at the start, so I try to err on the side of caution and take it off the heat before all the chocolate is melted.

Pictures:

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

