what? bread?

a blog about making bread at home

Savoury pies with Jarlsberg cheese and ham

Not bread as such but made with dough rather than pastry. As appeared on the Hairy Bikers Bakeation episode from Norway, and the recipe can be downloaded from here.

The dough is made from water, sugar, yeast, four, milk, salt, butter and eggs. However, the recipe makes a lot and I have had a most traumatic time trying to work this into something edible. The filling is onion, garlic, ham, cheese, parsley, caraway seeds and salt and pepper to taste, nothing to complain about with that, except the amount is nothing near enough to fill the amount of dough that appears.

I should have only made half the dough and I think even that will be too much. I’d need to watch how much extra liquid went in more carefully, perhaps starting with half the milk and then trying to form the dough.

So, the dough is made by the sponge method and you leave water sugar and yeast for a couple of hours to do its thing.

 Note that it has filled my bowl after just about 2 hours.

 Then you add the rest of the ingredients and make a firm dough, well, if I’d tried to knead it, it would have been off the worktop and all over the floor before you could say ‘watch that dough’. I added a lot of extra flour just to get it into something that be handled and nowhere near anything that could be described as firm.

Then I had to go out for a bit and when I came back it had filled the bigger bowl I’d left it in.

Going out for an hour and a half gave me time to think as I already knew I was in trouble. This is what I found:

When I got back I divided some of the dough into 90g pieces, I made 12 on the off chance that there would be enough filling to fill them. I rolled the balls with a rolling pin and put in the filling, slapped on some beaten egg to join the edges and then over the top and flung them in the oven. I made 9, there’s pictures of 8 but I’ve already eaten one! They took about 20 mins to cook and puffed up nicely.

The rest of the dough I’ve made into rolls

and saved some for pizza bases for when the family come back later on.

Not sure if I’d make them again, but they are quite tasty and I’ll have another one later with some salad for tea.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Savoury pies with Jarlsberg cheese and ham

  1. I went for the Apent Bakeri sourdough from the same episode. Although the recipe is not in the book or on the website! But these look interesting!

    Just like you I’m stoured out with white bread products and can’t face up to making the fatty flaky white rolls so wwill leave them a week. (Also I have a task of building a wardrobe)

  2. I chased down the recipe for the Skilling Bollen from Lom, and am saving them for a rainy day – I love fruit buns.

  3. Mouse123 on said:

    Just happened across your post mid making these pies. The dough was liquid like and I was wondering what I had done wrong! I have just added loads more flour and I’m hoping they turn out like yours. Thanks for posting 🙂

  4. Elaine on said:

    I too have had problems with this dough, far too much liquid and a whole more flour needed, didnt even add the milk! About to try and roll the dough wish me luck?!

Leave a Reply

