what? bread?

a blog about making bread at home

baking as therapy

My aunt has not been well. And we’re off to see her and my cousin and my cousin’s son tomorrow. We’ve been to visit several times over the last few months and I take some baked goodies along too. Initially to give her something tempting to eat because she needed building up, but now perhaps to help me feel like I’m doing something to help. I don’t know if it does, but it makes me feel better and gives us something to talk about.

So today I have baked these Little Stem Ginger Gingerbreads from The Great British Bake Off How to Bake book. The book does not have a decoration on them but I added some water icing made with lemon juice and some pieces of stem ginger rolled in granulated sugar.

Next up are these Norwegian  cardamom and lemon stamped cookies from the Hairy Bikers Big Book of Baking. I weigh the mixture into 20g pieces and while I don’t have a cookies stamp I use the bottom of a little plastic pot. I make about 30 of them, rather than the 24 the book says. These smell fantastic while they are baking and taste rich and buttery as well has spicy from the cardamom.

And finally while all that was going on I was making my first Mellow Bakers loaf – a Quick White Loaf with millet flakes.

made into balls and resting

shaped and starting to prove

after proving before slashing and baking

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “baking as therapy

  1. Marian Keyes used baking to battle her depression
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2094143/Marian-Keyes-I-battled-depression-baking-says-bestselling-author.html

    the white bread looks great! I loved the addition of millet flakes.

  2. Pingback: cakes and cookies – in the name of charity « what? bread?

Leave a Reply

