what? bread?

a blog about making bread at home

sourdough experimenting

Bank Holiday Monday and we’re all at home and somehow bread just evaporates so I knew I’d have to bake some more. I didn’t have enough of either of the sourdough starters to make a loaf so a bolt from above said “use a bit of both”. Top idea I thought, thanks! But in a spirit of adventure I did not just change one thing about the recipe. I also adapted Dan’s basic sourdough to using more wholemeal, I did something like this:

200g strong white flour, 200g wholemeal four, 100g or thereabouts of both starters, 225ml water and 1 and half teaspoons of salt.

And I left it to rise twice before shaping, mostly because I changed my mind about going out and just had to go out for a couple of hours. So, it was kneaded for 10 seconds, left to rise for about an hour and a half, kneaded again and left to rise for another hour or so, then shaped and left while we were out for almost two hours and then baked when we got back.

Now just marking time until my new Dan Lepard book arrives and I can start joining in with the Mellow Bakers. I have also ordered some crumpet rings and hope that will make another story too.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “sourdough experimenting

  1. Great loaf. I love the look of the crust.
    How do you find the white starter and the rye starter to differ? I have just moved to having one of each, and apart from smelling different I don’t really know what to expect.
    Olly

    • The white one seems more frothy and doesn’t go ‘bready’ like the rye one does but stays more runny. Just now they both smell the same, quite ‘sharp’, not fruity any more. I’m only about a week ahead of you anyway so who knows what will happen next. It’s all good fun.

      • Sweet. I might have to bake some small loaves testing the two. I might have to wait until my oven is fixed.
        What I really need is more people to eat my bread, I want to bake more than I get through. It’s a real dilema.

  2. Like! There’s only 3 of us and we seem to get through it OK. But I do feed other people, there will be some bloggage later this week about visiting my aunt and taking baked goodies to her. When I’m at work I feed them mercilously if I am trying recipes out. They got through nearly two batches of hot cross buns and I sent my son in to school with some for the teachers.

Leave a Reply

